The Crazy Canucks



Crazy to the limit, Canadian to the bone, these four alpine ski racers gained respect in Europe’s great ski valleys.

Dave Irwin, Ken Read, Dave Murray and Steve Podborski burst onto the European ski circuit in the 1970s, and their daring wins won them their reputation as the “Crazy Canucks.”

It all started with “Jungle” Jim Hunter’s bronze at the 1972 Sapporo Olympics. Soon Dave Murray and Dave Irwin were chipping in and the Maple Leaf was gaining some respect in Europe’s great Ski Valleys.

The heart of the run started in 1975 when Ken Read won the downhill at Val d’Isere. He was the first non-European male to win a World Cup downhill race. The Crazy Canucks had arrived.

The Hahnenkamm, Vengen, Schladming – even mighty Kitzbuhel fell before this maverick team.

Steve Podborski brought it home in style. From 1980 to 1982, he stood alone. In 20 straight races, Podborski reached the podium 19 times.

Crazy to the limit – Canadian to the bone.

The Crazy Canucks. A unique Footprint on Canada’s sports legacy.