Celebrating Great Canadian Storytelling

June 26, 2012

The Historica-Dominion Institute Honours Diamond Jubilee Recipients

Tuesday June 26, 2012—Toronto, ON—The Historica-Dominion Institute recognized the accomplishments of thirty-eight remarkable Canadians who received Diamond Jubilee Medals for their outstanding contributions in their fields. The recipients of this honour, who were nominated by the Institute for their work in sharing Canadian stories and experiences, include  authors Lawrence Hill and Lee Maracle, actor Paul Gross, filmmakers Clement Virgo and Charles Officer, singer-songwriter Mike Ford and artist Scott Waters. The Historica-Dominion Institute celebrated the accomplishments of Diamond Jubilee recipients at its annual Canada Day party in the historic Distillery District yesterday.


"Storytellers play a critical cultural role in connecting Canadians to our past and exploring our present," said Jeremy Diamond, Director at The Historica-Dominion Institute. "We were thrilled to have this opportunity to honour the contributions of so many great Canadians, from many fields of excellence, by nominating them for a Diamond Jubilee Medal."


Canada’s largest charitable organization dedicated to history and identity, The Historica-Dominion Institute is proud to be a partner organization selected to nominate deserving Canadians for the Diamond Jubilee Medal. The Diamond Jubilee Medal marks the 60th anniversary of Queen Elizabeth II's ascent to the throne. This year, 60,000 Diamond Jubilee Medals are being awarded by the Governor General's office to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to their fields. The Historica-Dominion Institute's 38 nominations are:


Lawrence Hill, author
Clement Virgo, filmmaker
Drew Hayden Taylor, author
Charles Officer, filmmaker
Paul Gross, actor and director
Dr. Lee Maracle, Author and Traditional Teacher
Michael Farkas, President of the Black History Month Roundtable
Jan Haskings-Winner, President of the Ontario Humanities and Social Science Teachers Assoc.
J.D.M Stewart, educator
Peter Seixas, Professor and Canada Research Chair
Naeem “Nick” Noorani, social entrepreneur, author and immigrant advocate
Brian Maracle, author and journalist
Rachel A. Qitsualik-Tinsley, author
Joe Martin, historian and economics professor
Staff Sergeant Baltej S.Dhillon, RCMP
Charles Hou, Founder of the Begbie History Contest, GG award-winning teacher
Patricia Mary Baker, educator
HooJung Jones, Veteran advocate and author
Dale Scott Waters, artist
Michael John Ford, singer-songwriter
Flying Officer Samuel L.Garnet, veteran
Captain Mort Lightstone, Korean War veteran
A. Blake Seward, educator
Margaret (Los) Haliburton, veteran
Alex Polowin, veteran
Emile Turcot, Capt. (ret), veteran
John Feeley, veteran
Major John Fisher, CD, UE, veteran
L. Col (Ret’d) Susan Beharriell, veteran
Pam Calvert, educator
Grant McRae, veteran
John Kilpatrick, veteran
Charles (“Chic”) Ellsworth Goodman, veteran
Gerry O’Pray, veteran
Denise Chong, historian
Norman Hillmer, historian
Jean-Pierre Riendeau, veteran
Patrick Habamenshi, author, Rwandan refugee and founder of Behind Dogon Doors


The Historica-Dominion Institute is the largest independent organization dedicated to history and citizenship in Canada. Its mandate is to build active and informed citizens through a greater knowledge and appreciation of the history, heritage and stories of Canada. Visit www.historica-dominion.ca.


For more information:
Davida Aronovitch
Communications Manager
(416) 506-1553